WoF Recap: February 28, 2017

EPISODE #6557: TEEN BEST FRIENDS

$1K Tossup: PEOPLE

T _ R R I F I C
T E _ _ _ _ _ E S

Ashley & Katie blow it w/ TERRIFIC TEACHERS.

T E R R I F I C
T E A _ M A _ E S

Sang & Isabella say they’re TERRIFIC TEAMMATES. Let’s see how good they are as they try to defeat…

Sang Tong & Isabella (freshmen): BFs for 4 yrs. from San Diego

Ben Sklansky & Zach (sophomores): BFs for 5 yrs. from Chicago

Ashley Moore & Katie McChurch (seniors): BFs for 15 yrs. from Orange County and have met in ballet class when they were two years old; Ashley wants to be a teacher for the deaf

$2K Tossup: PLACE

C _ N _ _ _ _ E _ C E
S T O R _

Zach & Ben solve CONVENIENCE STORE.

Other Gift Tag of the Week: DICK’S Sporting Goods

Round1: WAYD?

The boys start us off w/ a $1,400 N pair, two I’s, a G for that MDW, but then the BANKRUPT near $650 to lose $1,150 and the MDW. Second, A&K strike out w/ P while on the WC. Third, S&I call up a $1,200 pair of H’s, a $900 S, a $600 C, but then a bad vowel in O. The boys then put up a $1K T pair and an R for the WC

_ _ _ N C H I N G
_ _ / T H I R S T

…they’re QUENCHING MY THIRST to double their money.

DUDS: P (A&K), O (S&I)
SOLE BANKRUPT: boys


Crossword/Mystery Round: OPPOSITES

A&K lead the way w/ five T’s for $2,750, but then L for loss. S&I are second in line w/ a $550 M, a $500 S, three O’s, a $500 B, and a $1,600 pair of P’s. Grid…

  •               S T _ _ T
  •               T          O
  • B O T T O M      P
  •               P

They know the opposite of stop is a START, so they add $2,900 to their total ($3,900 overall).

SOLE DUD: L (A&K)

TRIP GOING TO WASTE: Gaylord Palms Resort in Kissimmee, FL

Classic Bonus Puzzle (1995 during My Favorite Teacher from Disney World): THING

CDGA was of limited help…

_ _ R _ S C _ _ E

HOROSCOPE was NOT solved.

Boys: $4K WC/A&K: ZERO/S&I: $3,900


PP/Express Round: PHRASE

S&I BANKRUPT right away near $650 to lose their WC. Second, the boys digs up an $800 S, two A’s, but then M for mistake. Third, A&K get the exact same fate as the other girls. S&I are next w/ a T and go aboard the EXPRESS.

Next Choices: two H’s, N, five O’s, CRASH w/ R (they lose $3,750)

Z&B then put up a $1K pair of W’s and $1K pair of G’s…

_ O O _ / W H O ‘ S
G O _ N G / T O
H A W A _ _

LOOK WHO’S GOING TO HAWAII at the Outrigger Waikiki worth $14,696 — those boys w/ $2,550.

SOLE NON-BANKRUPT DUD: M (boys)
BANKRUPTS: 3 (S&I 2x; A&K)

Boys: $21,246 cash & trips/A&K: ZILCH/S&I: $3,900


$3K Tossup: STAR & ROLE

_ E _ / _ _ _ _ E _ K
_ S / B _ T M A _

Zach & Ben don’t know it.

_ E N / _ _ _ L E _ K
_ S / B _ T M A _

Ashley & Katie forget the category and are one letter off w/ BEN AFFLECK IS “BATMAN”.

_ E N / A _ _ L E C K
_ S / B _ T M A N

Sang & Isabella finally ID BEN AFFLECK AS “BATMAN”.

Round 4: THINGS

They first say a $650 S, but then F for flunk. Second for the leading boys are a $500 N, but then the LaT. Third, the girls in the middle strike out w/ T. S&I resume their play w/ a $500 D, four A’s, a $500 R, but then H for hush. After the boys hit the other normal BANKRUPT to give back the $500, the girls put an $1,800 L trio, but it’s S-U time…

A L _ _ _ R A / A N D
_ A L _ _ L _ S

…w/ a $1,500 FS again. They put up those C’s…

A L _ _ _ R A / A N D
C A L C _ L _ S

…good thing they know their ALGEBRA AND CALCULUS — they’re finally getting their only $4,800 on the night.

DUDS: F (S&I), T (girls), H (S&I)
SOLE BANKRUPT and LaT: Boys

FINAL SCORES
Boys: $21,246 cash & trips/A&K: $4,800/S&I: $6,900

GT: $32,946
BANKRUPT TRASH (sans extras): $5,400


$100K Bonus Round

Cheering the boys on are Zach’s mom Amy, Ben’s parents (Andy and Sue), and Ben’s brother Jake. Ben takes the BW to the S of AMERICA’S.

Category: PHRASE

Easy one, IMO…

_ _ R _ N _
T _ E / _ R E _ _

CHDA adds besides the obvious H…

D _ R _ N _
T H E / _ R E A _

I’d like to know where the big one was DURING THE BREAK, but the boys have solved and leave w/ $55,246 cash & trips.

$5K SPIN ID: BC6316558

MY RATING: 6