WoF Retro Recap: April 11, 2012

EPISODE #5608: SHOPPING SPREE

$1K Tossup: THING

P R O _ F / O F
_ U _ C H _ _ E

Amy solves PROOF OF PURCHASE and let’s do some bios, shall we…

Amy Lazzaro: special ed teacher at the Deasy School in Glen Cove who’s also a savvy shopper (how appropriate) from Nesconset, NY

Jodrell Walker II: Art Institute of Atlanta student who’s planning to get his Bachelor’s Degree in audio production from Atlanta (orig. from Columbia, SC)

Becky Cotton: slow cooker married to Daniel w/ two girls (Madison & Ashlyn) from Murrieta, CA

$2K Tossup: LIVING THINGS

_ U L I P S / A N D
I R I _ _ S

Becky gathers some TULIPS AND IRISES for control.

FEATURED SS: BeyondtheRack

Jackpot Round: PROPER NAME

She’s off and running w/ three N’s for $1,200, two E’s, a $300 T, but then a bad I purchase. Second, Amy calls up two H’s for $1,100, an A, but then M for mistake. Third, Jodrell spots a $300 W, a $550 R, and three O’s to clean out the vowel shop, but he LOSES A TURN following a $300 C. Becky then tries to solve for the house minimum…

_ W A _ N E
T H E / R O C _
_ O H N _ O N

…she IDs DWAYNE “THE ROCK” JOHNSON.

DUDS: I (Becky), M (Amy)
SOLE LaT: Jodrell
UNCLAIMED JACKPOT: $8,200

Mystery Round: SONG/ARTIST

Getting Amy started are two $300 R’s and six E’s, but next is the BANKRUPT near TD to lose $350. Jodrell secondly spins LaT for the second straight time. Third, Becky picks up a $10,500 T trio, two A’s and O’s, a $1,500 Y trio for the blue 1/2 KIA and the leftover vowel singles of I and U. Those are followed by a $450 K, two H’s for the Bookperk gift tag, two $1K B’s via the MW next to LaT (that was the $10K one), a $500 V…

E V E R Y / B R E A T H
Y O U / T A K E
B Y / T H E / _ O _ I _ E

…but then a MAJOR DUD of N — oh, she really disappointed the 80s music fan in me. -__- After Amy hits the MDW’s left sideJodrell solves “EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE” BY THE POLICE. Becky’s late blunder costs her $14,950 cash & books plus that plate.

SOLE DUD: N (Becky)
SOLE LaT: Jodrell
SOLE BANKRUPT: Amy

Becky: $3K/Amy: $1K/Jodrell: $1K

Need to turn this around… -__-


PP Round: PHRASE

First for this guy are a $450 M, three I’s, two N’s for another $600, and two O’s, followed by a G for the same 1/2 KIA but then E for error. Becky secondly runs into the other normal BANKRUPT. Third, Amy picks a $500 T, buys the last vowel of two A’s…

I ‘ M / _ _ O A T I N G
O N / A I _

…she replies “I’M FLOATING ON AIR”, because she’s won the leftover $250 and a Hotwire.com trip to the Iberostar Bavaro in the DOMINICAN REPUBLIC worth $5,725.

SOLE DUD: E (Jodrell)
SOLE BANKRUPT: Becky

Becky: $3K/Amy: $6,975 cash & D.R./Jodrell: $1K


$3K Tossup: SHOW BIZ

I _ / _ H _
_ P _ _ _ I _ _ T

Amy’s IN THE SPOTLIGHT, because she’s now $25 shy of 10 grand.

Round 4: AROUND THE HOUSE

First up are a $900 T, an E, two A’s, a $600 R pair and two I’s before that S-U Bell is heard…

_ _ _ R T _
_ E _ _  R A _ I _ I A

…and this should help — it’s a $6K Final Spin! After two M’s have been later put up by Ms. White…

S P _ R T S
M E M _ R A _ I _ I A

Becky’s won $12K w/ SPORTS MEMORABILIA.

DUDS (all after bell): N (Amy), H (Amy), C (Becky)

FINAL SCORES
Becky: $15K/Amy: $9,975 cash & D.R./Jodrell: $1K

GT: $25,975
BANKRUPT TRASH: $350


$100K Bonus Round

Becky’s landed on the second A of AMERICA’S.

Category: THING
Let’s see some RSTLNE help, control people…

_ _ R _ / _ _
T _ E / _ _ _ 

HDYO’s a darn good combination (the H is a waste, though)…

_ O R D / O _
T H E / D _Y

…the WORD OF THE DAY is WINNER, because she’s quadrupled to $60K ($45K was in her envelope)!

MY EP. RATING: 7

One thought on “WoF Retro Recap: April 11, 2012

  1. JP Mackey August 12, 2014 / 4:42 pm

    Too bad Jodrell didn't win, because I'm an aspiring music producer. Nice job by Becky making that comeback though!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.