WoF Recap: October 30, 2019

FYI, I’m NOT going to be available for most of next week. I’m part of my school’s production of High School Musical (albeit for a very small role), so that means that I have to attend all of the rehearsals and performances for next week. Now, let’s continue the action of this week that caters towards a much older audience…

EPISODE #7058: HOME SWEET HOME

$1K Tossup: PHRASE (but also MOVIE TITLE)

W _ E R _ / T H E
H _ _ _ _ / _ S

Jessica knows that home is “WHERE THE HEART IS”. Let’s bring out the midweek panel…

Jessica Goodman: Granada Hills, CA. Insurance brokerage worker at an entertainment Industry.
Laurie Whitnack: Durham, NC. Teacher’s assistant at Voyager Academy Elementary School. Married to Matt for 2 years w/ 2 boys. Also a Broadway Musical fan.
Ray Tellalian: Westbury, NY. Retired. Married to Betty for 55 yrs. Has 2 children, a daughter-in-law, and 3 grandchildren.

$2K Tossup: LIVING THING

T I _ _
_ _ M _ I N _ _ I _ D

Laurie spots a TINY HUMMINGBIRD (As opposed to what other kind?) for spinning rights.

FEATURED PRIZE: Margaritaville Lake Resort at the Lake of the Ozarks (Central MO) worth $7,518

Round 1: SAME NAME

Laurie spins the MDW first, but T won’t get her that (It also eliminates my original thought of PROTEIN & SNOOZE BAR.). Ray then calls 2 $800 N’s, 2 E’s, a $700 R, and an A before repeating the T. Jessica then nabs the Margaritaville trip w/ an F. After a $700 L and 2 I’s comes a bad B call. Laurie finishes off w/ a FP O and 3 $900 C’s…

C E I L I N _ / &
_ O C C E R
F A N

…before making the $2,700 solve w/ CEILING & SOCCER FAN.

DUDS: T (Laurie), B (Jessica)
DQ: Ray’s T repeat

Mystery Round: AROUND THE HOUSE

Trying to shake off from his R1 blunder, Ray picks off 2 $600 R’s, 2 A’s, 4 E’s, a $900 T, 5 O’s to clean out the vowel shop, a $650 D (He accidentally said DOOR when trying to call that letter – LOL!), but then the BANKRUPT next to $650 to wipe away his two grand. After Jessica gets that other BANKRUPT, Laurie inserts 3 $650 H’s and 2 FP S’s.

A / H O R S E S H O E
A _ O _ E / T H E / D O O R

I don’t think I’ve seen A HORSESHOE ABOVE THE DOOR before, but Laurie earns another $2,950 w/ that solve.

BANKRUPTS: 2 (Laurie’s opponents)

Laurie: $7,650/Ray: NADA/Jessica: $1K


PP/Express Round: THING

Jessica immediately calls H for hush. Laurie goes for a FP E, a $900 T, 2 I’s, O, a $650 N, and a nonexistent S while on the WC. Ray chooses a $500 R, 3 A’s, “Buys” a $650 L, and then actually buys a U to clear out the vowels. His next stop is the EXPRESS where he’ll call an X. He’s hopping on…but then repeats the S to let $2,650 go up in smoke. Jessica completes the board w/ 3 FP M’s…

M A X I M U M
R E L A X A T I O N

…and will have this at the Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo in COSTA RICA worth $7,922.

DUDS: H (Jessica), S (Laurie)
CRUCIAL BANKRUPT: Ray

Laurie: $7,650/Ray: BAD SHAPE/Jessica: $10,422 cash & C.R.


Triple Tossup: WAYD?

1.

_ _ _ _ _ G
A / _ _ _ H

Laurie takes a stab w/ TAKING A BATHno.

M _ _ I N G
A / W I _ H

This puzzle was last used as a BR on Kyle Kurtis’s episode ($45K was lost there.), and Ray’s on the board w/ MAKING A WISH (He did stumble a bit before giving the correct response.).

2.

B L _ W I N G / O U T
T H E / C _ N D L _ _

Laurie’s BLOWING OUT THE CANDLES.

3.

_ _ _ T _ N _
_ _ _ / _ A K E

I see what the puzzle writers were doing here – Laurie’s CUTTING THE CAKE to take back the lead at $11,650.

Speedup: EVENT

Like Monday, the Final Spin is set at $1,700.

Laurie: T (DUD)
Ray: 2 R’s
NULL CYCLE
Jessica: 2 C’s
Laurie: M (DUD)
Ray: D
Jessica: Y
Laurie: 2 B’s

B _ C _ Y _ R D
B _ R B _ C _ _

Laurie pockets another $5,100 from a BACKYARD BARBECUE.

AIRED DUDS: T & M (Laurie)

FINAL SCORES
Laurie: $16,750/Ray: $2K/Jessica: $10,422 cash & C.R.

GT: $29,172
BANKRUPT TRASH: $4,650

These categories await Laurie in the BR…

  • PHRASE
  • THING
  • LIVING THING

LIVING THING is her choice.


$100K Bonus Round

Laurie’s husband sees her spin up to the first A in AMERICA’S. A third of the puzzle already…

_ _ _ R _ _ L E
_ _ _ N

BGPA looks like a decent combination…

A _ _ R A B L E
_ A _ N

She’s off by a letter w/ ADORABLE DAWN, but an ADORABLE FAWN will give her an extra $37K for a final all-cash sum of $53,750.

MY RATING: 7

Andy’s taking over tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “WoF Recap: October 30, 2019

  1. Adam Alam October 31, 2019 / 1:32 am

    Honestly, I would’ve given this a 6 if I was focusing on gameplay alone. All of those little funny moments bump it up to a 7.

    Like the last episode, I RSTLNEd the BR.

    Like

  2. nickskapower October 31, 2019 / 7:39 am

    Of course, the audience doesn’t react when the MDW was hit – UGH. -_-

    But on the other hand, I LOL’d when Ray mistakenly said DOOR as a letter in R2!

    I RSTLNE’d the BR because we had a similar puzzle last season during Week II of Secret Santa Holiday Giveaway.

    My Rating: 6 (But I’d personally give it a 7 based on the funny instances that happened throughout the episode)

    Like

    • Adam Alam October 31, 2019 / 9:00 am

      To be fair, the MDW was the first thing spun in the round. That was probably the only time that I am OK w/ the audience not reacting (Mainly because the spins aren’t projected on the main screen in the studio that time.).

      Like

  3. andynwof October 31, 2019 / 3:25 pm

    Ray was pretty shaky in the game, repeating not ONE but two letters (especially late in R3). But I too found it funny when he said DOOR as as letter.

    TAKING A BATH was also what I thought for the first of the Triple Tossups.

    I also got the Bonus puzzle w/ RSTLNE and as Nicksapower said, FAWN was used in the second week of the Secret Santa Holiday Giveaway (NEWBORN FAWN to be exact).

    My Rating: 6

    I’m back at work now…

    Like

  4. Skipps Largo November 1, 2019 / 10:20 am

    Ray looked lost out there, but al least he was able to avoid the schneid (lives almost an hour away from yours truly). After a sloppy maingame Laurie salvages the episode with a BR win guaranteeing us a winning week.

    Rating: 6

    Great job with those recaps, Adam!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jpgenius November 2, 2019 / 1:10 pm

    Ray was funny, but Laurie’s good puzzle solving nets us a 3rd win. Awesome.

    My rating: 7

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.