WoF Recap: May 9, 2016

EPISODE #6411: GREAT AMERICAN CITIES – DENVER

VTR: March 17 (taped before Mike’s big week)

$1K Tossup: PLACES

_ N _ W – _ O V E R _ D
M _ _ N _ _ I _ _

Jen knows that Denver has some SNOW-COVERED MOUNTAINS. First three Coloradoans this week…

Jen Gleason: office mgr. at engineering firm from Englewood
Tyler Chelf: worker at upscale retailer who enjoys going to concerts & attends CO St. Univ. from Centennial
Melissa Leonas: media planner at downtown advertising agency from Denver

$2K Tossup: FUN & GAMES

_ I _ T _ N _
T _ E / T _ _ _ L S

We’re HITTING THE TRAILS after Tyler solves this puzzle.

FEATURED CARAVAN.COM TOUR: California Coast
Mon./Wed./Fri. Gift Tag: CrossFit DeCO

Round 1: WAYD?

He first chooses an $1,800 trio of T’s, two E’s, I’s and O’s, but then R for roadblock. Second, Melissa calls a $500 H, four I’s, and two N’s for the CrossFit DeCO gift tag, but she then repeats the O. Third, Jen LaTs out. Tyler next picks a $500 G, but then the sole dud vowel of A. After Melissa hits the MDW’s right side to lose $2K cash & gift tag, Jen puts up an M for the CA trip, a U,  $700 C, two $600 P’s, and a $500 S…

S I _ I N G / U P / T H E
C O M P E T I T I O N

…she’s SIZING UP THE COMPETITION for $2,650 plus the $6K tour.

DUDS: R (Tyler), A (Tyler)
SOLE LaT: Jen
SOLE BANKRUPT: Melissa
SOLE DQ: Melissa’s O repeat

Tyler: $2K/Melissa: $0/Jen: $9,650 cash & CA

 

Mystery Round: BEFORE & AFTER

Melissa leads off w/ a $1,200 pair of N’s, five E’s, an $800 T, three I’s, and two H’s while on the MW near $650. She risks the 15 Benjamins…$$$. But after an O buy is the BANKRUPT near $650 to squander $11,250. Moving on to Jen who puts up a $7K pair of S’s, the last vowel of A, and the frontloading $600 L…

L O _ E / I S
I N / T H E
A I _
_ _ E S H E N E _

…she replies “LOVE IS IN THE AIR FRESHENER” for $7,350.

HER SECOND BANKRUPT: Melissa

Tyler: $2K/Melissa: ZIP/Jen: $17K cash & CA

 

PP/Express Round: PHRASE

There goes Jen w/ the calling of three T’s for the 1/2 CAR near $600, three A’s, two $500 S’s, two E’s, a $600 R, two O’s, but here comes the same normal BANKRUPT to take away $2,350 and her plate. Over to Tyler w/ a $700 N, two I’s, two $900 C’s, but then the exact same fate to give back $2,250…

I / C O _ _ _ / T A _ E
A / T _ O _ S A N _
_ I C T _ R E S

…and Melissa replies “I COULD TAKE A THOUSAND PICTURES” for a trip to The Springs Resort & Spa in COSTA RICA worth $6,800.

BANKRUPTS: 2 (other players)

Tyler: $2K/Melissa: $6,800 C.R. trip/Jen: $17K cash & CA

 

$3K Tossup: EVENT

F A M I L Y
_ _ _ _ E _

Jen flubs w/ FAMILY REUNION.

F A M I L Y
D _ _ N E _

Tyler‘s up to $5K w/ FAMILY DINNER.

Round 4: AROUND THE HOUSE

Opening moves are a $1K pair of T’s, two E’s, but then the LaT. Second for Melissa are a $1,200 pair of N’s, an O, a $700 S, two I’s, a $1,200 pair of L’s, but it’s S-U time…

_ _ / _ _ _ O _ I T E
_ L _ N N E L / S _ I _ T

…and it’s a $1,600 FS. She then puts up two R’s…

_ _ / _ _ _ O R I T E
_ L _ N N E L / S _ I R T

…I don’t have MY FAVORITE FLANNEL SHIRT, but she’s won $5,800 for her C.R. trip.

SOLE LaT: Tyler

FINAL SCORES
Tyler: $5K/Melissa: $12,600 cash & C.R./Jen: $17K cash & CA

GT: $34,600
BANKRUPT TRASH (plate not included): $17,850 cash & gift tag

 

$100K Bonus Round
Yet another SUV is being offered, and this one is a GMC Terrain Denali (it’s also the first time they’ve offered a GMC since the Chicago road trip in 2008). Jen lands on the I in AMERICA’S.

Category: THING
Lead-offs….

_ _ _ E
_ R _ _ E _ T

She’s looking very good after calling CHPO…

H O _ E
P R O _ E C T

…she completes her HOME PROJECT to leave w/ exactly 50 grand cash & tour.

$5K SPIN ID: PP1740705

MY RATING: 6

One thought on “WoF Recap: May 9, 2016

  1. jpgenius May 9, 2016 / 11:52 pm

    Some bumps and bruises, but nonetheless a decent start to Denver.

    My rating: High 6

    Like

Leave a Reply

