WoF Recap: January 20, 2016

EPISODE #6333: BED & BREAKFAST

$1K Tossup: FOOD & DRINK

_ _ _ _ M _ _ E
_ _ F F _ _ _

Hans is incorrect w/ HOMEMADE WAFFLES, and Christine repeats said response.

H O _ E M _ D E
M _ F F _ _ _

Michelle gets the right to be interviewed first w/ HOMEMADE MUFFINS

Michelle Lee: part-time retail worker from Brooklyn
Hans Van Walter: medical student from Loma Linda, CA (orig. from Avon Park, FL)
Christine Kennard: former opera singer in New Orleans for 25+ yrs. from Picayune, MS

Click HERE to read the pre-article on Hans. He’s been on “Millionaire” and the Jeopardy! College Tournament.

$2K Tossup: WAYD?

A C _ I N _ / O N
_ _ P U _ S E

Christine is literally  ACTING ON IMPULSE to get on the board that time (and it looked as if she had won something big).

FEATURED B&B TRIP: Abbeymoore Manor in Victoria, BC worth $7K

Round 1: SONG TITLE

She leads the way w/ a $550 T, two E’s, but then the BANKRUPT near top dollar to lose the $300 remainder. Second, Michelle picks up the bedandbreakfast.com gift tag w/ an H, buys two A’s, but then hits the other normal one to lose $1,250 cash & GT. Third, Hans FPs a couple O’s, but he then gets the same BANKRUPT Christine got. After said middle player LOSES A TURN, Michelle plucks a $7,500 triof of N’s, and buys the other two vowels…

T H A N _ / _ O U / _ O _
_ E I N _ / A / _ _ I E N _

…this is the theme song for “The Golden Girls” and Michelle has solves “THANK YOU FOR BEING A FRIEND” for $7K.

SOLE LaT: Christine
BANKRUPTS: 3 (whole panel)

Hans: $0/Christine: $2K/Michelle: $8K

 

Mystery Round: BEFORE & AFTER

Early leader Michelle gets this board started w/ four $600 R’s, three E’s, two A’s, two N’s for the Canada trip, and an O, followed by a $700 D, the other two vowels, an F for the 1/2 CAR near pink $600, a $500 T, three $650 S’s, but then the BANKRUPT near $650 to forfeit $12,800 cash & trip as well as her plate. Hans then says a $650 H and an $800 M…

F U R N I T U R E
M O _ E R S
A N D / S H A _ E R S

…FURNITURE MOVERS AND SHAKERS is right for $1,450.

SOLE BANKRUPT: Michelle

Hans: $1,450/Christine: $2K/Michelle: $8K

 

PP/Express Round: LIVING THINGS

Hans‘ first selections here are a $1,200 pair of S’s, two T’s to double up, two E’s, but then A for awful. Second, Christine wastes a spin w/ the BANKRUPT near TD. Third, Michelle takes a $1,200 R pair, but then C for crud. Hans follows suit w/ buys of three I’s, but then the other dud vowel of this board (O). Christine then says two $00 B’s, two U’s, a $700 F, a $600 L, a $650 D, and two $550 M’s, then we have…

_ U M M I _ _ B I R D S
& / B U T T E R F L I E S

…in addition to another $4K, she’ll see some HUMMINGBIRDS & BUTTERFLIES on her trip to the Lapaz Waterfall Gardens in COSTA RICA worth $6,100.

DUDS: A (Hans), C (Michelle), O (Hans)
INSTA-BANKRUPT: Christine

Hans: $1,450/Christine: $12,100 cash & C.R./Michelle: $8K

 

$3K Tossup: PHRASE

_ H _ / _ I T C _ E N
_ _ / O P _ _

THE KITCHEN IS OPEN for Hans to add some more money.

Speed-Up: PLACE

Consonants are worth $1,700 each. After a D appears at the very end of this puzzle…

_ _ _ _ T
N _ _ G H _ _ R H _ _ D

Hans solves QUIET NEIGHBORHOOD for $5,100.

SOLE DUD: C (Michelle)

FINAL SCORES
Hans: $9,550/Christine: $12,100 cash & C.R./Michelle: $8K

GT: $29,650
BANKRUPT TRASH (minus plate): $14,350 cash & prizes

I really hate to say this, but Christine looked real clueless up there. She’s been looking at the wrong arrow very often and doesn’t realize she needs to hold on after Pat congratulated Michelle on her payoff tonight.

 

$100K Bonus Round
The clueless Christine has spun the W.

Category: PHRASE
Looks easy, IMO…

_ _ _
T _ _ N _ S / _ _

HPCI might do it for her…

_ I _
T H I N _ S / _ P

or so I thought — she literally had to MIX THINGS UP w/ all her first word guesses ending in -IT, and she just threw away the $33K.

$5K SPIN ID: EP9038997

MY RATING: 4

10 thoughts on “WoF Recap: January 20, 2016

  1. ant0824 January 21, 2016 / 2:07 am

    Well. We said we better pick it up with BR wins, unfortunately, we can’t with another BR resulting in a terrible show.

    My rating: 2

    Like

    • ant0824 January 21, 2016 / 2:09 am

      Likewise, look at last year’s BR record after 18 weeks from season 32. We got less BR wins this season than last year after week 18

      Like

  2. PriceRight89 January 21, 2016 / 3:36 am

    Considering how spaced out Christine was throughout the whole show, you had to have seen that BR result coming.

    Like

    • Christine kennard January 21, 2016 / 6:08 pm

      Thanks for the shitty comment about me. Nice. I’m so spaced out I won!

      Like

  3. JP Genius January 21, 2016 / 3:59 am

    Pretty wild episode, that’s for sure.

    My rating: 6

    Like

  4. Christine kennard January 21, 2016 / 6:04 pm

    I am Christine from last night’s show. You a-holes don’t have a clue I was having fun and I am 65 years old and yes, I was overwhelmed but to trash me like this is heartless and nasty! Btw, if I am so clueless how did I win? AND I had over 35 people in my living room and no one got the prize puzzle and the other contestants in the green room said they didn’t get it either. So screw you!

    Like

    • andynwof January 24, 2016 / 1:24 am

      Nice to see you here Christine, but DON’T you dare tell me to screw myself and call me an a-hole, ma’am! 😡 I’m sorry if I was being mean to you but you weren’t alert at all times and my point still stands. And I was hoping Hans or Michelle would win, but you won out of dumb luck.

      Like

    • PriceRight89 January 25, 2016 / 2:44 am

      You won because of perhaps the BIGGEST flaw in Wheel’s design. You solved a puzzle that determines the outcome of the game 75% of the time. Take away the prize and Hans would have gone to the bonus round.

      I’m siding with Andy. There is no need to call any of us out or call us names on our analysis of your performance. Do you kiss your loved ones your with that mouth of yours?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

